Shipping options are currently limited due to the COVID-19 pandemic. Learn More.Login0 / $0.00

Back to All Books

Not Even the Gods Are Perfect

By Elizabeth E. Wein


from Demigods and Monsters

Pre-Order Now



This is one essay from the anthology Demigods and Monsters

The #1 New York Times bestselling Percy Jackson series—including The Lightning Thief, The Sea of Monsters, The Titan’s Curse and The Battle of the Labyrinth—features a 12-year-old dyslexic boy who discovers he is the son of a Greek god, the target of mythical Greek monsters and the center of a prophecy that could change the balance of power in the world forever. In Demigods and Monsters, YA authors take on Greek gods, monsters and prophecy, to add insight and even more fun to Riordan’s page-turner series.

The book also includes an introduction by Percy Jackson series author Rick Riordan, that gives further insight into the series and its creation, and a glossary of ancient Greek myth, with plenty of information on the places, monsters, gods and heroes that appear in the series.

Demigods and Monsters is a collection of essays on Rick Riordan’s wildly popular Percy Jackson and the Olympians series and is not authorized by the author, publisher or any entity associated with the series.

Visit for accompanying lesson plans, discussion questions, and other classroom materials.

About the Editor

Rick Riordan is #1 New York Times bestselling author of the Percy Jackson and the Olympians series, and the author of the upcoming first installment in the 39 Clues series. For 15 years, Riordan taught English and history at public and private middle schools in the San Francisco Bay Area and in Texas. He lives in San Antonio with his wife and two sons.


Rosemary Clement-Moore, Cameron Dokey, Paul Collins, Carolyn MacCullough, Ellen Steiber, Elizabeth Marraffino, Jenny Han, Sarah Beth Durst, Elizabeth Gatland, Kathi Appelt, Sophie Masson, and Nigel Rodgers

Back to Top

About the Author

Elizabeth E.  Wein

Elizabeth Wein’s young adult novels include The Winter Prince, A Coalition of Lions, and The Sunbird, all set in Arthurian Britain and sixth century Ethiopia. The cycle continues in The Mark of Solomon (Viking), published in two parts as The Lion Hunter (2007) and The Empty Kingdom (2008). Recent short fiction appears in Sharyn November’s Firebirds Soaring (Firebird 2009). She’s now taken off in a different direction with the forthcoming Code Name Verity, a thriller set during World War II. Elizabeth has a PhD in Folklore from the University of Pennsylvania. She and her husband share a passion for maps and flying small planes. They live in Scotland with their two children. Elizabeth’s website is, and she keeps an erratic blog at

Go to the Author Page

Back to Top